Sonicrealms Racing

General => Assetto Corsa => Topic started by: DOC on March 30, 2015, 03:20:28 PM UTC



Title: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: DOC on March 30, 2015, 03:20:28 PM UTC
Hi SR Members,

i am downloading Assetto Corsa at the Moment and wanted to ask if you Guys are still activ there? I would like to have some Races/Practise the next Days with it.

Greetings DOC


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Turkey on March 31, 2015, 08:54:41 AM UTC
Add me on steam, there are also groups for LFS, Assetto etc. Also go through my friends list ;)

SR Turkey, jasonmatthews


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Storm_Cloud on March 31, 2015, 09:10:54 PM UTC
I've got AC, I should get my details too.

Hello btw - how are we all?


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: DOC on April 02, 2015, 09:45:44 PM UTC
Sorry, but it looks like AC did not Work on my old PC.... Core 2 Duo and Geforce 8800 GTS 512.  :red:

I always get a "d3d11.dll not found" error message when i try to start a ride.  :P

I think i have to Pimp my old Computer first to play AC.  :rolleyes:

I hope to do that soon.  :driving:


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Storm_Cloud on April 03, 2015, 02:04:15 PM UTC
I've got a duo, no idea what my GFX card is these days, but it's no monster. Single player is okay, but I haven't played multi for months because it was so badly optimised.

You might just have a corrupt file. Do you get the same error playing other modern games? Civ 3 does not count  :)



Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Turkey on April 05, 2015, 04:36:52 PM UTC
You need to change one of the ini files to allow a dx10 card, as it expects dx11.

As reported in the "minimum requirements" FAQ, Assetto Corsa doesn't support DirectX 10.0 cards and will never do, due to technical factors. If you want to play with an old dx10.0 card, you need to edit a file by yourself.

    Go in "(steam installation folder)\SteamApps\common\assettocorsa\system\cfg"
    Open "graphics.ini"
    Change this line:

ALLOW_UNSUPPORTED_DX10=0 ; UNSUPPORTED USE AT YOUR OWN RISK
becomes:
ALLOW_UNSUPPORTED_DX10=1 ; UNSUPPORTED USE AT YOUR OWN RISK

Save the file and launch the game.

Furthermore, remember to disable Post Processing Effects in the video options of the game, otherwise the workaround will not work!


Now the game should start but you may encounter artifacts and strange errors. Use at your own risk.


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: DOC on April 08, 2015, 06:02:45 PM UTC
Thanks for the Help,

but my Hardware realy needs a big Update now. I already have the Components on my Buy List. It costs me round about 800€ to get nearly up to Date. The bigger Problem is the need of Time to install all my Software on a new PC. But i think in 1 or 2 Weeks i have the new PC running. So God and my Wife will.

Greetings Doc


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Neil on April 10, 2015, 11:20:27 PM UTC
Ah yes, I know that feeling Doc.
I'm still using an old Core 2 Duo myself, with XP. (Just hit 8 years old!)
It's not coping awfully well with LFS 0.6H and I'm fairly certain that AC would be a waste of time.
Have been looking at upgraded bits for several months, but yeah it's the time as much as the money...


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: DOC on April 25, 2015, 02:48:53 PM UTC
Its Alive  :o  ITS ALIVE  :o

Finally my new PC is Running  :yay:

After a long and painful debate with my beloved Wife  :bitchfight: i get the permission to buy a new Mid range Computer 

:hail: Hail to thee my goddess.  :hail:  I love being married  :wife:   


With these negotiated restrictions i get this, Core I5/GF GTX750Ti/ 8GB Ram/ 128GB SSD/ 2TB Harddisk/ Win7 64Bit

I know the Geforce is not the fastest but its Quiet, cheap and hopefully good enough for Games like Asseto.
Sadly i have to Download AC again, about 6 Hours with my Band wight  :steve: . In the meantime i have Fun with these usual annoying Install a new Computer shit....  :hatepc:

Hope to see some of you in AC soon  :driving:




Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Neil on April 25, 2015, 05:25:29 PM UTC
Yay :j
You certainly beat me to it. Looks like a pretty healthy spec, without being stupidly expensive. The toughest call for me is probably going to be the GPU... Don't wanna spend the earth, OR have one that pumps out so much heat I need to buy an air-conditioner for the bedroom ;)

Which i5 did you go for btw?
I'm debating i3 vs. i5. Given that loadsa stuff is still single-threaded, I'm not sure I'd ever really take advantage of the extra cores.


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: DOC on April 26, 2015, 07:25:57 PM UTC
Its a core I5 - 4590 @ 3,3 Ghz. says CPU-Z.

Btw, did my first try with AC today. I like the look but the feeling for my wheel is a bit strange atm. I have to find some G25 setting that feel better.


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Neil on April 28, 2015, 08:40:56 PM UTC
Hell, you didn't cut too many corners with the CPU then ;)


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Turkey on May 12, 2015, 10:18:05 PM UTC
Hey DOC, that CPU is great, shame about the GPU :P

I just upgraded my PC, already had a GTX 670, now got an i7 2600k. Hopefully good enough for a little while. I was using a very very old CPU before, core 2 duo 8400 :)


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Neil on May 13, 2015, 12:25:28 PM UTC
Mmm, just checked the TDP for a GTX 670 and it's apparently 170W (!!) - probably more than I can make my entire PC dissipate right now ;)

I'm gonna cut corners just a weeee bit more than that - probly a high end i3 (fastest clock I can get my hands on) and (cough) try to make do with the built-in HD 4600 for a while... Oo
When I get tired of that, which may not take long :lol: I'll probably buy a GPU something like Doc just bought (or whatever is <= £100 and doesn't have stupidly high power demands). I am sure of one thing: it won't be another ATI/AMD card - I'm done with them.

My work PC has a high end i7 (4770K) so I will have fun comparing them. The high end i3s are every bit as quick on single-threaded code (and quite a bit quicker than your superslow i7 Jason :P :lol:) so I think in most situations I won't miss the i7...

PS: my work PC isn't overclocked at all, despite them choosing to put a K processor in it (we build almost all our own PCs), so I imagine I could in principle push it way faster than an i3 if I had the time/energy.


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: slaWter on May 13, 2015, 07:35:16 PM UTC
How about swapping out the i3 with i7 from your work PC and taking the i7 home? ;)


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Neil on May 13, 2015, 08:05:07 PM UTC
Hey, I shoulda thought of that! :D


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: RoamerF1 on May 16, 2015, 09:27:55 AM UTC
heya all ! :)  im starting to find my motivation back for racing and i have an simple questions about ac. Is it worth of buying? is multiplayer ready for good racing yet? (no big bugs etc...) :D


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Turkey on May 18, 2015, 10:04:12 PM UTC
I like it alot, but multiplayer is not great. It works, just is not in the same ballpark as LFS. Not sure if it has improved lately though.


Title: Re: DOC in AssettoCorsa
Post by: Neil on October 04, 2015, 06:10:50 PM UTC
Hey Doc - which GTX 750 Ti did you buy? My GPU just died and I'm thinking about buying one (still dithering about the new mobo/CPU pairing but tempted by Skylake), and have discovered there are a whole bunch of variants (mem, cooling, clocking...).

ta! :)